Skip to product information
1 of 1

Carlos Santana & John McLaughlin: Invitation to Illumination- Live at Montreux 2011 CD Set

Carlos Santana & John McLaughlin: Invitation to Illumination- Live at Montreux 2011 CD Set

Regular price $20.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $20.00 USD
Sale Sold out

Eagle Rock Entertainment are proud to announce the release on 11 September 2015 of the “Invitation To Illumination – Live At Montreux 2011” 2CD [Cat. No. EDGCD641]. This is the first ever release of the audio from this unique concert featuring the guitar talents of Carlos Santana and John McLaughlin and includes most of the tracks from their classic 1973 album “Love Devotion Surrender”. “Invitation To Illumination – Live At Montreux 2011” also features the late Claude Nobs, founder of the Montreux Jazz Festival, playing harmonica on the final track. On 1st July 2011 Montreux hosted the reunion of two master-guitarists Carlos Santana and John McLaughlin with their Invitation To Illumination concert. Both musicians have been regulars at Montreux across the years but this was the first time they headlined their own concert together. The show features compelling performances of the beloved tracks from 1973’s “Love Devotion Surrender” as well as inspired songs that have influenced Carlos & John’s incredible careers, including songs by Led Zeppelin, Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Bob Dylan & John Lee Hooker. This show is an incredible display of guitar virtuoso by two of the most prolific guitarists to ever grace the world stage. The line-up for this performance featured Carlos Santana (Lead Guitar & Vocals); John McLaughlin (Lead Guitar & Vocals); Cindy Blackman Santana (Drums); Dennis Chambers (Drums); David K. Mathews (Keyboards); Tommy Anthony (Guitar & Vocals); Raul Rekow (Congas, Percussion & Vocals); Etienne M'Bappé (Bass); Benny Rietveld (Bass); Tony Lindsay (Vocals); Andy Vargas (Vocals)



1) Echoes Of Angels / Introduction

2) The Life Divine

3) Duende

4) Peace On Earth / Dear Lord

5) A Hard Rain Is Gonna Fall

6) Stairway To Heaven

7) Lord’s Prayer

8) Free America / The 8th Of January

9) La Marseillaise

10) Right Off

11) Guitar Interlude

12) Right Off

13) Vuelta Abajo

14) Vashkar

15) The Creator Has A Master Plan

16) Guitar Interlude

17) Naima

18) Lotus Land Op.47 No.1


1) Downstairs Blues

2) Venus / Upper Egypt

3) Let Us Go Into The House Of The Lord

4) Black Satin

5) Smooth Criminal

6) Land Of 1000 Dances

7) Cindy Blackman Santana Drum Solo

8) A Love Supreme

9) Montreux Boogie (inc. La Grange)

10) A Love Supreme

11) Shake It Up And Go The evening was a showcase of supreme musical virtuosity and spirituality and typified the approach of these two great artists. “Invitation To Illumination – Live At Montreux 2011” captures an incredible night of live music and is certainly a performance not to be missed.


M SAN-CD-151

View full details